Product Environmental Footprint

Product Environmental Footprint Beratung

Wir unterstützen Sie bei Ihren PEF-Zielen

Der „Environmental Footprint“ (EF) ist eine Initiative der EU-Kommission. Sie dient der Ermittlung eines methodischen Ansatzes zur Quantifizierung der Umweltleistung von Waren oder Dienstleistung während ihres gesamten Lebenszyklusses.

Während der nächsten drei Jahre haben interessierte Unternehmen ab sofort jederzeit die Möglichkeit, mit thinkstep zusammenzuarbeiten, um Product Environmental Footprint und Organizational Environmental Footprint (OEF)-bezogene Studien und die Entwicklung von neuen PEFCRs und OEFSRs durchzuführen. Weitere Informationen darüber, wie thinkstep Ihnen helfen kann, finden Sie hier.

thinkstep ist der wichtigste Datenbankanbieter. Wir haben  mehr als die Hälfte der verpflichtend zu verwendenen Datenpakete geliefert –mehr Daten als alle anderen Datenlieferanten zusammen. thinkstep ist mit der GaBi Datenbank die beste Anlaufstelle für daten-bezogene PEF/OEF-Fragen.

Zusammen mit zwei Partnern leitet thinkstep ein Konsortium, welches die Kommission während der derzeitigen Übergangsphase unterstützt, bevor Product Environmental Footprint (PEF) letztlich Eingang in europaweite Regelwerke finden wird.

Darüber hinaus ist thinkstep auch Konsortialpartner im Remodelling-Projekt, wo wir den größten Teil der Benchmark-Ergebnisse in den finalen PEFCRs und OEFSRs liefern.

Die GaBi Software-Familie ist die führende Lebenszyklus- und PEF/OEF-Software, besonders für internationale und globale Industrieverbände. Berechnen Sie den Produkt- oder Organisationsbezogenen Environmental Footprint (PEF/OEF) mit der GaBi Software von thinkstep.

Für weitere Informationen zum PEF/OEF besuchen Sie die Webseite der EU Initiative.

Kontaktieren Sie uns

So können wir Sie unterstützen

Angebot 1: PEF berechnen

GaBi Software bietet alle relevanten Product Environmental Footprint Daten, um Ihren PEF zu berechnen

Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Entwicklung neuer PEFCRs, damit Sie einen PEF berechnen können

Wir helfen Ihnen, Product Environmental Footprint Daten zu entwickeln und können bereits vorhandene LCAs und EPDs mit den neuen PEF-Indikatoren auswerten

Angebot 2: Interne Nutzung des PEFs

Wir helfen Ihnen, mittels der PEF-Methodedie Umwelt- Hotspots Ihrer Produkte zu identifizieren

Wir unterstützen Sie auch mittels inoffizieller Studien (‚shadow studies‘), um die Bedeutung dieser neuen Entwicklung von intern zu testen

Angebot 3: PEF kommunizieren

Wir können Sie bei der Kommunikation Ihrer Anliegen mit der Europäischen Kommission unterstützen.

Wir helfen Ihnen, die richtigen Industriepartner oder NGOs zu finden und unterstützen Sie bei der Entwicklung, Verwaltung oder dem Beitritt zu einem technischen Sekretariat während der PEF-Übergangsphase

Angebot 4: Zusätzlicher Mehrwert von PEF

Wir helfen Ihnen, PEF-Ergebnisse in Kreislaufwirtschaftssysteme oder Material- und Stoffdeklarationen zu integrieren.

Lernen Sie, den PEF als Messinstrument für ökologische, Compliance und andere Hotspots zu nutzen und ihn zu kommunizieren.

Vorteile für Ihr Unternehmen:

Risikoverringerung

Verstehen Sie neue Anforderungen und bereiten Sie sich auf diese vor. 

Strategieentwicklung

Entwickeln Sie Strategien, um die Umweltleistung Ihrer Produkte und Services zu verbessern.

Stärkung des Markenwertes

Kommunizieren Sie die Umweltleistung Ihres Unternehmens oder Ihres Produkts.

Wettbewerbsvorteile sichern

Seien Sie durch die Vorbereitung von PEF-konformen Informationen für Ihre Produkte und Dienstleistungen Ihrer Konkurrenz einen Schritt voraus.

Erweiterung Ihres Nachhaltigkeitswissens

Nutzen Sie die Erkenntnisse über die Nachhaltigkeit Ihres Produktes, um Innovationen voranzutreiben.

Informationsgewinnung

Erhalten Sie Informationen, die für zukünftige PEF-Entwicklungen relevant sind.

Umweltkennzeichen verstehen

Lernen Sie Typ 3-Umweltkennzeichnungen zu verstehen und zu nutzen.

Weitere Informationen über PEF

Die Entwicklung des Product Environmental Footprint (PEF) und des Organisation Environmental Footprint (OEF) wurde mit der Zielstellung initiiert, eine konsistente Methodik bezüglich des ökologischen Fußdrucks zu finden, die außerdem einen Großteil der relevanten Umweltleistungskriterien berücksichtigt.

Die PEF Initiative nutzt eine lebenszyklusbasierte Methodik, die sich auf das International Reference Life Cycle Data System (ILCD) Handbook bezieht. Das ILCD Benennungssystem ermöglicht Ihnen einen einfachen Transfer von i LCA-Daten einerseits zwischen unterschiedlichen PEF/OEF Anwendern und Softwaresystemen.

Die zweite (mittlerweile abgeschlossene) Pilotphase hat ca. 20 PEFCRs und OEFSRs entwickelt. Dies sind Regelsysteme, die Reproduzierbarkeit bei der Berechnung und Auswertung von produkt- und unternehmensspezifischen PEF und OEF Ergebnissen sicherstellen. Dies ist ein wichtiger Schritt in der Nutzung von Ökobilanzen in Politik und im freien Markt.

Die PEF/OEF Richtlinien und die weiterführenden PEFRCR/OEFSR Richtlinien schaffen einen methodischen Rahmen für die Entwicklung von PEFCR/OEFSR und für die Modellierung der Umweltwirkungen von Stoff-, Energie- und Abfallströmen im Zusammenhang mit Produkten und Organisationen über deren Lebenszyklus.

Die EF Initiative ist ein wichtiger nächster Schritt in der Anwendung des Lebenszyklus-Ansatzes und -Analyse basierend auf der bestehenden ISO 14040 Serie. Hierdurch werden die Analyse, Berichterstattung und Kommunikation der Umweltleistung von Produkten und Organisationen vereinfacht, verlässlich und vergleichbar. Die EF Initiative ist spezifischer, robuster und reproduzierbarer, mit stringenteren Datenanforderungen und einer wachsenden Datensammlung, die durch die Europäische Kommission verfügbar gemacht wurde.

Mehr über die Geschichte von PEF (Englisch)

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

thinkstep AG Wins Bid to Support Companies During PEF Transition Phase

thinkstep has won the bid to guide companies through the Product Environmental Footprin...

Enabling Sustainable Success

In the era of climate change, population growth, resource scarcity and increased...

Product Environmental Footprint (PEF) Initiative of the European Commission

How it will impact your products on the European markets

What Experts at thinkstep Say on the EU Environmental Footprint

Experts of thinkstep talking about the EU Environmental Footprint

Translated Page:

Product Environmental Footprint Consulting Service

Product Environmental Footprint (PEF) Consulting

The Environmental Footprint (EF) is an initiative of the European Commission, establishing a common methodological approach for quantifying the environmental performance of any good or service throughout its life cycle.

Interested businesses can now work with thinkstep anytime during the next three years (the Transition Phase) to facilitate the creation of PEF and OEF studies and the development of new PEFCRs and OEFSRs. Please see below for more details as to how we can support you.

thinkstep is the key data provider for more than half the EF mandatory data packages, more than the other 5 providers combined. thinkstep, with its GaBi databases, is the go-to contact for data-related PEF/OEF questions.

thinkstep is leading a consortium of three partners to provide the indispensable, technical and expert support to the Commission during the current transition phase of the PEF/OEF, which will eventually lead to regulatory policy. 

Also, thinkstep is a consortium partner in the remodeling project, delivering the largest share of officially remodeled benchmark results for about half of the product groups and organizations in the final PEFCRs and OEFSRs.

The GaBi software family is the leading life cycle and PEF/OEF software, particularly for international and global industry associations. Calculate the Product or Organisation Environmental Footprint (PEF/OEF) with GaBi Software from thinkstep

For more information on the PEF/OEF, visit the EU Initiative’s website.

Contact us for more information

How We Can Support You

Offer 1: Calculate a PEF

GaBi Software offers all relevant PEF data to calculate your PEF

We support you in developing new PEFCRs so you can calculate a PEF

We help you develop PEF data, and we can calculate existing LCAs and EPDs using the current PEF indicators and impact categories

Offer 2: Use PEF internally

We help you identify the impacts and hotspots of your products with PEF

We support you in conducting shadow studies to test PEFCR development and PEF calculation before going public

We harmonize existing PCRs / PEFCRs

Offer 3: Communicate PEF

We can communicate your needs with the European Commission and manage organizational and informal aspects around your PEF requirements

We help you find the right industry partners or NGOs and support you in establishing, managing or joining a Technical Secretariat during the PEF Transition Phase

Offer 4: Additional value from PEF

We help you to integrate PEF results into circular economy schemes or material and substance declarations

Learn to detect risks specific to your industry by using PEF as a measuring tool for environmental, compliance and other hotspots

Learn how to communicate the PEF of your company or your products

Benefits to Your Business

Decrease Risk

Understand PEF demands and be prepared for upcoming regulatory requirements from PEF.

Build your Brand Reputation

Communicate your company’s or your products’ environmental performance.

Gain Competitive Advantage

Get a head start on competitors by preparing PEF-conforming information for your products and services.

Extend your Sustainability Knowledge

Use your product’s sustainability assessment to drive innovation.

Develop Strategies

Develop strategies to improve the environmental performance of your products and services.

Gain Relevant Information

Gain relevant information for future PEF implementation.

Understand Environmental Labelling Schemes

Learn to use and understand type III environmental labelling schemes (ISO 14025).

More Information on PEF

The development of the Product Environmental Footprint (PEF) and Organisation Environmental Footprint (OEF) was initiated to develop a harmonized environmental footprinting methodology that can accommodate a broader suite of relevant environmental performance criteria.

The PEF initiative uses life cycle-based methodology based on the International Reference Life Cycle Data System (ILCD) Handbook. The ILCD format and nomenclature enable you to easily transfer interoperable life cycle data between PEF/OEF practitioners and, more importantly, software systems.

The 2nd pilot phase of the PEF/OEF (now complete) has developed close to 20 PEFCRs and OEFSRs, rules systems that ensure reproducibility in the calculation and reporting of product and organization-specific PEF and OEF results. This is a key step to using Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) in public policy and competitive market contexts.

The PEF/OEF Guides, and the complementing PEFCR/OEFSR guides, provide the methodological framework for developing the PEFCR/OEFSR and for modelling the environmental impacts of the flows of material/energy and the emissions and waste streams associated with specific products and organizations throughout their life cycles.

Aimed at easing the analysis, reporting and communication of the environmental performance of products and organizations and making it more reliable and comparable, the EF Initiative is an important next step in applying life cycle thinking and analysis based on the long-established ISO 14040 series. It is more specific, more robust and reproducible, with more stringent data requirements and with a growing data foundation made available through the European Commission.

More about the history of pef

You Might Also Like

thinkstep AG Wins Bid to Support Companies During PEF Transition Phase

thinkstep has won the bid to guide companies through the Product Environmental Footprin...

Enabling Sustainable Success

In the era of climate change, population growth, resource scarcity and increased...

Product Environmental Footprint (PEF) Initiative of the European Commission

How it will impact your products on the European markets

What Experts at thinkstep Say on the EU Environmental Footprint

Experts of thinkstep talking about the EU Environmental Footprint